Happy National Poetry Writing Month 2016

Happy Poetry Month 2016! It’s my 6th consecutive year taking part in the 30 Day Challenge – a poem a day for 30 days. You can find my previous completed challenges in my Tumblr archives in the April months as well as here in my WordPress under the National Poetry Writing Month category. I’m ecstatic that I’ve been able to persist with my writing far enough to take me to another NaPoWriMo. This time around, I’ve decided to collect prompt ideas for poems from family and friends (and random generators) and will feature a new prompt each day this month. Feel free to join me in this 30-day challenge, either by writing a poem of your choice or writing to the daily prompt, your choice! Pingback if you decide to participate, I’d love to see what everyone else out there is writing.

Day 1 Prompt: “A memory.”

“What Happened at the Playground”

To the gap-toothed, bowl-cut, sun-freckled boy,
I imagine you’re a man now-
with hands rough and callused, but words still as soft as the sky.
These words may never reach you,
but I hope you feel them anyway,
ruffling your hair like a breeze.
At 5 years old, your wisdom preceded you.
Your smile changed the way I saw myself;
changed the world around you.
For a moment,
I forgot that I’d been crying.

-E.E.

Leave a Reply

