WPC: For who I was yesterday is not who I am today…

DSC05228.JPG

When I began my Peace Corps service in Jan. 2015, my mentality was very much set on looking ahead. Where will I be in 3 months? How will I spend my holidays? What will I accomplish in 2 years?

Dec. 22 surreptitiously marked my quarter of a century of existence on this planet. You’d think after 25 rotations around the sun, I’d have learned a thing or two about navigating this life. The truth is, I’m still learning. When prompted by The Daily Post to think about the Now for their weekly photo challenge, the first thing that came to mind was the passing of my birthday. This is the first year I’d spent the occasion abroad, and away from close friends and family. Before the date even came to pass, I was already thinking about how I’d make up for it next year. But when I think about it, there’s really nothing to “make up for.” Sure, it wasn’t the type of celebration I’d been accustomed to, but it was a memorable evening, spent eating great food with caring people in the comfort of my village.

It’s only in retrospect that I realize this is my “now.” I am presently living out my 25th year – not 2 weeks ago, not next year, but now. And with that realization, this is where I want to be – physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually “here.” My days are numbered only so long as I count them. No more counting for me, it’s time to just be.

5 thoughts on “WPC: For who I was yesterday is not who I am today…

Leave a Reply

