Melting

I’ve been gone awhile
but I never really left
physical presence isn’t the only kind
I just went into my mind’s tundra
searching
for something I thought I’d lost
but it wasn’t really missing
it’d only been left behind
in another time
and place
another sentiment
in space
some memories are softer
and warmer
than others
I had to chip away at this one
let it thaw
because sometimes
it’s the most beautiful memories
that leave you feeling
cold and raw
I found the one I sought
there it was
frozen
all along
waiting for you to find me
right where I belong

the ice
it’s melting

Leave a Reply

