Growing Up

I don’t remember when the sound of thunder became soothing
but somewhere between adolescence and adulthood, it did
when I hear it rolling through the atmosphere
I close my eyes and let the scent of coming rain fill me
the rumbling wakes my senses
clapping loudly
as if saying
it’s time to start over, get up! get up!

some people don’t believe in second chances
I don’t
I believe in as many chances as you need to get it right
right isn’t the same for everyone
no matter, the opportunity is always there
between booming roars and deafening bangs
it’s time to start over, get up! get up!
when thunder calls, I like to listen

-E.E.

Leave a Reply

