Kneading

We knead dough between our fingers and laugh at a joke that neither of us understands
Proof that not everything stops at borders

I may not have the language to tell you how much this means to me
But I have the laugh that carries my happiness to you
I know you can hear it by the way your smile reaches your eyes

Like the dough between my fingers,
I wish I could stretch out this moment, bake it into a million pastries, and share it with everyone I know so that
I’ll never forget
how full I feel right now

-E.E.

Leave a Reply

