TWENTY-WHAT?!

Happy New Year! 2015 really crept up on me, much like 2014, 2013, and 2012… Will I ever be truly ready for the year? I honestly didn’t make any new year’s resolutions last year, trust me, I intended to, it just never really happened. So I can’t say whether or not I followed through since there wasn’t anything to follow through with, but I can say that it was a pretty dynamic year.

Some of the best moments I shared with people in 2014 (in semi-chronological order):

  1. DPMI (Development Project Management Institute) during winter block before the name change to Design, Partnering, Management, and Innovation
  2. Supporting an International Women’s Day event on campus and performed an original poem
  3. Completed another month-long poetry self-challenge during National Poetry Month
  4. 2014 SUA graduation ceremony and alumni reunion(s)
  5. The Kerouac Crusade – the roadtrip of a lifetime
  6. My best friend’s wedding
  7. Receiving my Peace Corps assignment placement in Thailand
  8. Co-founding the Asian Student Union (ASU)
  9. An epic Fall Break! – complete with roadtrippin’ adventures, Gilmore girls binge-watching, bottomless mimosas, a spontaneous San Fran day complete with boba, and everything in between
  10. Beginning (and ending) an unprecedented week-long of Halloween and Dia de los Muertos festivities with some of the most awesome people I know
  11. Thanksgiving at home with family
  12. Surviving 4 monumental projects fall semester (with some of the best teammates)
  13. Good-bye Bond Fire Surprise Party
  14. NYE with great company

Did you notice I tried to go for 14 things? Yeah. Isn’t it nice when things work out the way you intended?

Reminiscing on some of the most outstanding moments really puts in perspective how much can be accomplished in a year’s time. I think it’s easy to lose track, to get caught up in the nitty gritty details, to forget to look up and around. I’m always grateful for the new year, and the opportunity to take a backwards glance and know that all of the effort, challenge, and struggle was not in vain. I’m going to ruminate on this list a bit longer as I begin to look forward to 2015. What do I want to accomplish, who do I want to be in a year?

Thanks to everyone who shared 2014 with me, it really was remarkable after all.

Leave a Reply

