Pressing Words, a.k.a. WordPressing

A friend once told me that if you go a night without a sufficient amount of sleep, it takes 3x as long to catch up on it. I don’t know if it’s true, but it would explain why I spent just about the whole day sleeping, and why I am up now at 3AM writing. Well, I’m not entirely sure that my day’s sloth-like activity really serves to explain my current alertness. This is after all the hour of my most active thoughts. I think by nature, I’m meant for nocturnal productivity.

Leaving Monterey was bittersweet. I felt like I should’ve been sadder than I was. It scares me how easy it was to leave a place that I called home, even if temporarily. I will miss the people. Against my expectations, I met some of the most incredible people in that place that I will ever have the pleasure to have known. And even though the time between now and when I will see most of them again is indefinite, I don’t feel all that distant. I think constant mobility can do that to a person. Monterey’s a transient community, largely made up of tourists, travelers, students, nomads, military personnel, and the like. And I, like so many others, was merely passing through. I had one hell of a send-off though. There was a bonfire, good food, good beer, wishes on flying lanterns, a po-po bust, music, dancing, and great company. I couldn’t have asked for more. Still though, it’s bizarre to me how untethered I feel. Maybe the finality of it all hasn’t really sunk in yet? Or perhaps this chapter is still open.

I’m making the transition to WordPress (in case this post wasn’t blatant enough). I’m still trying to wrap my head around the ridiculous amount of customizable options. I’m crippled by choices…as well as the lack of sufficient coding knowledge. I expect this blog to improve as my computer literacy does, at however slow a pace that is. If anyone wants to offer any tips or help, I’m open to tutelage and/or suggestions. Bear with me as I figure out how to navigate this site’s complexity. Sorry Tumblr, but it was time to move on. It’s nothing personal.

I’m also in the process of creating a Weebly strictly for my Peace Corps blog. I know I’m probably complicating things for myself as the point of this WordPress was to begin to consolidate my works. However, I think it’s best I separate PC from this as the Weebly will serve as a component of one of my deliverables for my DPMI+ work, and I prefer that personal and academic don’t entangle themselves. So stay tuned for the publishing of that blog.

Leave a Reply

